fbpx
Search
Close this search box.

How long do I have to file a workers’ compensation claim? 

In Utah, you must report a workplace injury or illness to your employer within 180 days in order to be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. If you fail to report the injury or illness within 180 days, you may be barred from receiving benefits. 

In addition to reporting the injury or illness to your employer, you must also file a workers’ compensation claim if benefits are not paid or paid properly with the Utah Labor Commission within one to 6 years from the date of the injury or illness. (Within one year if there was a death and death benefits are being sought, or within six years for most other benefits.) Failing to file a claim within this time frame may result in your claim being denied. 

It is important to report any workplace injury or illness as soon as possible, even if you are not sure whether it will result in a workers’ compensation claim. This will help ensure that you meet all the necessary deadlines and that your rights under the law are protected. If you have questions about the deadlines for filing a workers’ compensation claim in Utah, it is recommended to consult with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney. 

Remember, this information is not a substitute for legal advice. If you have specific questions or concerns, set up free consultation with a Fillmore Spencer Attorney who has expertise in .
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Provo Law Office

Murray Law Office

St. George Law Office