Utah follows a comparative negligence rule (also known as contributory negligence) in awarding personal injury and wrongful death damages. This means you cannot receive compensation for your portion of the responsibility. If the jury determines you were 40 percent responsible for the mishap, the counterparty can only be held responsible for 60 percent of the damages. Furthermore, Utah law provides that if you are 50 percent or more responsible for the accident causing your personal injuries, you will not receive an award.
Read more about the benefits of hiring a car accident lawyer